That First Day of Class!

LEO stands for social and economic justice, sure, but it’s specifically an organization of educators, not workers in general. So let’s get specific! Let’s talk about teaching!

Since the Fall 2017 semester begins on Tuesday, September 5, it’s time to start planning the first class meeting. Aside from going over the syllabus and perhaps assigning a low-stakes diagnostic assignment, what’s an instructor to do?

Please post in the comments YOUR best ideas for a first-day-of-class activity! Please also identify your academic discipline(s) and primary campus.

One thought on “That First Day of Class!

  1. I teach English in Ann Arbor. For an icebreaker, I used to ask, besides name and hometown, for a bucket-list item. But I think this semester, I’ll ask English 125, “What would you order for your last meal?” and English 225, “Who or what is your arch-nemesis?” I hope I get some interesting responses!

    Like

Leave a comment